Epertase Publishing presents the works of Douglas R. Brown. Here you will find books available by the author.

A Firefighter Christmas Carol under 2MB.jpg

A Firefighter Christmas Carol

and Other Stories

Paperback ISBN: 978-17368820-0-9

Hardback ISBN: 978-17368820-3-0


Firefighters, serial killers, ghosts, and the mentally ill. It’s all here in this collection of psychological and supernatural suspense.

In his first short story collection, Douglas R. Brown draws inspiration from his career as a firefighter/paramedic along with a Charles Dickens classic in six thrilling tales exploring some of humanity’s darkest impulses.

A burned-out paramedic with PTSD receives a succession of ghostly visitors trying to help him face his demons before it’s too late. A solitary night janitor battles a sinister man in black. A firefighter fails to heed an otherworldly warning. A happily married man spirals into obsession over a comment by an internet troll. A man runs for his life down a dark country lane pursued by a stranger with murder in mind. A paramedic’s haunting secret threatens to destroy her life.

Written from the soul of a firefighter/paramedic who has seen his own struggles, A Firefighter Christmas Carol and Other Stories is an emotional rollercoaster from beginning to end and is not for the faint of heart.

Grinderfish Cover front Final RGB.jpg
Death of the Grinderfish

ISBN: 978-0-9899917-8-0

When your mask fails, you die. In this Robin Hood-esque fantasy tale, Tristin must use his gift to steal masks from the rich to save the ones he loves.

The air is lethal in Altenbyrne.

There is no escaping the poisonous fog within the kingdom’s walls. The river is infested with deadly grinderfish, and creatures beyond the walls prey on those who venture out. Without a lifemask, no one can survive. While the wealthy get all the lifemasks they need, people like Tristin and his sister, Makenna, only get one.

After Tristin’s disastrous attempt to steal a new mask for their dying mother, he and Makenna are forced to flee or face the king’s Angel of Justice. They cross the treacherous river to where a ragtag group of outlaws live. Though they’ll be safe there, Tristin dreams of a better life for all of them, and he’s going to steal more masks from the rich to get it.

But stealing lifemasks is punishable by death, and Tristin can’t hide forever.

The Angel is coming …

Death Alarm 2021.jpg
Death Alarm :

What happens when pure evil battles the noblest of professions?

Ted just wants to be a good firefighter. As a rookie, all eyes are on him to prove himself on the job. But when a routine fire alarm is anything but routine, Ted's newly learned skills are put to the test.

Death Alarm is a ghostly short story pulled from the collection, A Firefighter Christmas Carol (and other short stories) from Epertase Publishing due out in October, 2021. Available now for preorder.

Now Free on ebook

Book One front new font.jpg
Legends Reborn

ISBN: 978-0989991711

Loss. Betrayal. Sorcery. War. When wicked men plot to steal the Light of Epertase from Princess Alina’s soul, Rasi would fight the gods themselves to save her.

In book one of the epic fantasy trilogy, The Light of Epertase, a technologically superior army advances on Epertase, setting off a chain of events that threaten to destroy the entire kingdom. Rasi, a legendary warrior long ago banished and cursed with seven symbiotic tentacles fused to his back, may be the kingdom’s only hope. But to save Epertase, he must first save the one he loves.

“Brown weaves utter magic in Epertase.” J.S. Chancellor, author of Son of Ereubus

Now only $.99 on ebook

Book Two relaunch Working front .jpg
A Kingdom's Fall

ISBN: ​ 978-0989991735


That which survives the initial assault may yet die from the infection left behind. In the darkest chapter of this epic fantasy trilogy, the kingdom of Epertase is all but lost.

In the destroyed country of Lithia, the former Gildonese leader of the Lowlands, King Fice, has violently assumed the throne, filling the void left by the Tek destruction of the country. His unnatural powers of sway have become more potent and his influence farther reaching.
The Tek invasion has also left a void within the kingdom of Epertase. The war has tested the once-great people and, with the venomous words of men Queen Alina considers friends, Epertase descends into revolution. Alina barely escapes with her life.
Once again, the kingdom needs a savior.
And once again Rasi will be forced to unleash the darker part of himself in order to save the woman he loves.
All is not what it seems. Victory may still mean defeat. The war for Epertase has only begun.

Book Three cover relaunch frontsmallcopy
The Rise of Cridon

ISBN: ​978-0989991759

When kings make war, innocent men die. In the thrilling conclusion to The Light of Epertase, all appears lost within the broken kingdom.

After the tragic events of A Kingdom’s Fall, Rasi awakens imprisoned in the fisher kingdom.

A dark wizard has assumed Epertase's throne and rules with an iron fist. All he needs to gain ultimate power is Alina's Light. Fearing him, Alina has fled with her son, Cridon, to Torick Island where the banished Teks now live. But the Light has been broken and is calling Cridon back to Epertase and the dark wizard. Tevin must be stopped, and the fate of the kingdom rests within the soul of a child.

The end of days has just begun.

Full Tamed cover front.jpg

ISBN: ​978-0989991773

Do you wanna buy a werewolf?

It's the latest fad. The WereHouse insists their werepets are loyal, docile, and completely safe, but what happens when these gentle giants turn on their masters?

While on a routine EMS call, paramedic Christine Alt is attacked by a rogue werepet. She escapes with her life, but the encounter leaves her with more than just scars. As her body begins to change, she discovers the WereHouse is hiding a terrible secret, and they will stop at nothing to keep her from exposing them.


Called "… the Jurassic Park of werewolf stories," Tamed is a fresh werewolf tale with a twist.

ManyBooks 5.0_JanuaryF.png
nine heroes.jpg
Nine Heroes

Nine tales of heroic fantasy by some of the most exciting authors working today. Stories include: Black Sword by Janet Morris and Chris Morris, The Act of Sleepless Nights by Walter Rhein, To Kill a Myth by Jesse Duckworth, No Life Too Small by Douglas R. Brown, To Live by Tom Barczak, Dozen by Shane Porteous, Just One Mistake by A.L. Butcher, Witness to Death by Teel James Glenn, and Through the Sting of Fairy Smoke by R.A. McCandless

Love, Death, and Loneliness.jpg
Love, Death & Loneliness

Rasi's solitary life in his mountain exile weighs heavily on him. From defending himself against a bounty hunter seeking a nice reward to memories of meeting his wife and dreams of fighting in the Heathen War, Rasi has lived a life of pain. Take a peek into the world of Epertase with this self-contained, original short story following a day in the life of Rasi.